Leonard MacEachern awarded Teaching Achievement Award

Our professors, instructors and librarians are passionate about their work, and dedicated to having an impact on their students in our fields of scholarly endeavour, in our contributions to our community, and in making a difference by solving real-world problems. As faculty, instructors, and professional librarians, we are committed to pushing the boundaries of inquiry, mobilizing knowledge, and promoting unique learning experiences for our students.

The pursuit of excellence in teaching and research are foundations of Carleton University and, without question, our 2014 achievement award recipients excel in their efforts. Researchers are discovering new areas of knowledge, professors are integrating experiential learning opportunities in the classroom and providing students with opportunities to engage with cutting-edge research and their local and global communities, contract instructors are encouraging critical thinking and inspiring creative inquiry.

Congratulations to the 2014 achievement award winners from the Faculty of Engineering and Design!

Teaching Achievement Award

The Teaching Achievement Award was established in 1991 to enhance the teaching of the recipients and the quality of instruction at Carleton. Selection for the award is based on demonstrated excellence in teaching and on the quality of the teaching development projects proposed. Each award is valued at $15,000.

  • Leonard MacEachern, Associate Professor, Electronics. He will develop a capstone innovation portal to track progress, facilitate communications, engage industry mentors and serve as a reservoir of information on project work, intellectual property and funding.
  • Marc St-Hilaire, Associate Professor, Information Technology. He will develop Web collaboration and interactive content to make network technology courses accessible anytime, anywhere.

Research Achievement Award

The Carleton University Research Achievement Award was established in 1989 to enhance the quality of research and to recognize research excellence. The Research Achievement Award is administered by the Office of the Vice-President (Research and International). Each award is valued at $15,000.

  • Matthew Johnson, Associate Professor, Canada Research Chair in Energy and Combustion Generated Air Emissions, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering. His research project is on field measurements of black carbon emissions, using novel sky-LOSA technology.
  • Gabriel Wainer, Professor, Systems and Computer Engineering. He will research simulation and visualization for sustainability analysis of rural systems under the effects of climate change.

Search Carleton